My Path In Motherhood

The adventures of a Christian, cloth diapering, cooking enthusiast, breastfeeding, healthy-wannabe, "crunchy" mama and daughter.

Napping Problems.

on September 6, 2012

I mentioned it in Miss Molly’s 3 month update, but we don’t have a nap schedule yet. I’m totally okay with not having much of a schedule since I’m home every day, and am flexible with my plans. Even if we’re out and about during “nap time” Molly will pass out in the Ergo since I’m usually wearing her during errands.

It would be nice though to have some time to myself during the day. Molly doesn’t nap for more than 30-40 minutes usually. Very rarely it’s longer than that and if it is, it’s almost always in our arms. I really wanted to let her figure out her own schedule, and for bedtime – about 8:30 or so, through 9:30am we have a schedule down pretty well. It’s just during the day I’m still trying to figure it all out.

 

Since we only have one room as a result of living with my parents, I know I can’t vacuum or anything during nap time, and that’s fine with me. I’m not much a cleaner anyway, although I know I need to step it up once Molly starts crawling – I’m sure dust bunnies aren’t part of the healthy foods to first give baby. Also, as a result of living with my parents, usually once my Mom comes home from work, I sit in the kitchen with her and talk until it’s time for me to make dinner. Of course, I know I could bring Molly in our room with me and try to get her to nap in her crib, but I love talking to my mom, she’s my best friend!

 

Morning naps usually happen in the crib since my mom is working. I still can’t get more than 40 minute stretches though. I’m at the point where I’ve just come to the conclusion that Molly is just a cat napper. She doesn’t get cranky, but I don’t know how to get her to sleep longer. She usually takes 4-5 cat naps each day, although we have some days, like yesterday, that are totally off. She napped for a little bit in the Ergo while walking around Wegmans, and then napped on and off in the swing for at least 1.5 hours in the afternoon and was up until bedtime. I guess I should try to utilize the swing more and see if that helps.

 

I did mention the cat napping to the pediatrician, and right away she told me that she should be taking two 1 1/2 hour naps and we should keep her awake from 4:30pm until bedtime. I think that’s a little strict, and I’m not on the same page with the pediatrician for some things, so yeah, it would be awesome for Molly to fall into that schedule, but that’s not her schedule.

 

All in all, I think I want to know that it’s okay for Molly to cat nap. I feel like everyone I talk to has their baby into a morning nap and afternoon nap routine, and I’m curious as to how they got to that point.

 

How did you come up with a nap schedule?

 

6 responses to “Napping Problems.

  1. mamabear says:

    We do not have a set nap schedule and never have. I very much let naps happen as they happen and E has set her own routine but it took a while to get there. I think at 2 months, she was still napping 4-5 times a day. As she started consolidating naps, she did start taking some longer naps. Growth spurts and teething also affected naps. Her routine is now one morning nap, a midday nap and an afternoon nap. She does not have set nap times but they do happen usually within an hour or so every day. If I tried to force only 2 naps daily, I would have a very cranky baby.

  2. Isaac doesn’t have a schedule either. He naps when he wants. Usually it’s 2-4 naps a day. Most are 30 min- 45 min but sometimes we have 1-2 hour naps. Ironically he is up from 4:30 (at least) to 8 (his bed time) on most days so I find it interesting that your pedi suggested that because Isaac is doing that and has been for months.

    • Megan says:

      Thanks jana! I feel so much better knowing that I’m not the only one who doesn’t have, or plan on having, a napping schedule. I’m also glad to hear Molly isn’t the only one who naps only 30 – 45 minutes or so’

  3. Kaitryn says:

    get that baby on a schedule! Pediatricians are not idiots – longer naps are going to help her brain develop properly, something she isn’t going to get with shorter naps.

    • Megan says:

      What are your suggestions for getting her on a schedule? When she wakes up after 50 minutes at the longest, she’ll play for a while but wont fall back asleep.

Leave a Reply

