My Path In Motherhood

The adventures of a Christian, cloth diapering, cooking enthusiast, breastfeeding, healthy-wannabe, "crunchy" mama and daughter.

Engagement Rings

on September 13, 2012

Engagement rings. That special ring your husband picked out, maybe with your guidance or help, when he proposed to you. Or something along those lines.

I got my engagement ring on February 1, 2008. I wore it on my left hand proudly until it didn’t fit on my swollen, pregnant fingers any more. Well, minus some time were my fingers decided to break out in a rash last summer and I had to take a break from my rings, but anyway, for the better part of 4 years, that ring was on my finger, accompanied by my wedding band after December 27, 2009.

Now that I have Molly, I usually only wear my wedding band when I go out, and I haven’t worn my engagement ring since my maternity pictures were taken at the beginning of May.

Why is that, you ask?

My engagement ring is sharp. Like, I-have-scratched-myself-and-others-numerous-times sharp. I didn’t want to risk it with a new baby to wear it around her and possibly scratch her. So it sits in my jewelry box, waiting to be worn for special occasions I suppose.

I know my mom stopped wearing her engagement ring after she had me (her first born), because she didn’t want it to get ruined. It just makes me think, when do most moms stop wearing their engagement ring? Is is a generational thing? You rarely see an older woman wearing her engagement ring everyday. At least I haven’t seen any.

When did you/are you planning on putting your engagement ring back in the jewelry box?

One response to “Engagement Rings

  1. mamabear says:

    My wedding ring and engagement ring are soldered together, so I wear them both all the time. I don’t plan an ever retiring either one.

Leave a Reply

