My Path In Motherhood

The adventures of a Christian, cloth diapering, cooking enthusiast, breastfeeding, healthy-wannabe, "crunchy" mama and daughter.

Molly’s First Cold.

on September 24, 2012

Oh, Molly’s first cold. I knew it was going to happen sooner or later, although I would have had it happen much, much later if I got to choose. I could have guessed what was coming though, my cousin came to visit last weekend (the 15th-16th) and brought her two boys, who where both sick. Well, we knew one was sick, but the other got sick once he got here. So, of course, Molly got sick. I can’t blame my cousin, she asked if it was okay they came up, and I said yes, so if anyone’s to blame, it’s me.

Monday night, I could tell Molly didn’t feel well. It sounded like something was in the back of her through, mucous or something. It didn’t really bother her, but I kept having these visions of her not being able to breathe in the middle of the night, and even though our bed is about 3 ft from her crib, it still got me nervous, so I ended up staying up until 12:30am with her sleeping on my chest, just to make sure she was okay. She was up a lot all night, but that’s expected. Tuesday morning once we got up, I called the doctor, and she just recommended watching her for a fever and getting saline drops if her nose got stuffy, which it wasn’t at that point. She said it sounded like teething, which could be involved, but I knew that wasn’t the whole thing. I don’t love the pediatrician, but for now, she’s fine.

Eventually, of course, her nose did get stuffy. I did what I could, it was a cuddle, lay in bed fest all day long. We caught up on some TV and I let Molly run the day, sleeping and eating whenever and where ever. Tuesday night, we slept in the recliner for most of the night since I figured that might be easier for us and it was. She did have a slight fever – 99.4 – so I gave her some Tylenol and it went down. Wednesday morning I called the doctor again to let her know Molly had a stuffed nose and a slight fever the previous night. She said it sounds like a cold and I could bring her in if I wanted, but there wasn’t anything she could do. I figured I’d just let it ride its course, what else can you do? It’s a cold. I wish I could make it better. We did make a trip to CVS to get nasal spray, a humidifier and some natural Vicks-type stuff. I have a bulb syringe that I’ve been trying to suck what I can out of her nose, but those things are terrible!

Wednesday night, the Hubs took some meds (we’re both fighting a cold) and slept in the recliner so Molly and I could have the whole bed. It was super sweet of him, but it was really hard to sleep with Molly all night! I’m a hard core side sleeper, so I had to literally switch sides of the bed when I wanted to sleep on the other side in order to keep Molly in the middle. It wasn’t terrible, and of course, I’d do whatever I can for Molly, but it wasn’t my favorite way of sleeping.

The Hubs bought a swing for Molly Thursday since she wouldn’t sleep anywhere except for my arms and it got to be a bit hard to do anything. Like go to the bathroom. We had one, but it was given to us, and the battery compartment was corroded. It lasted 3 months, but the corrosion got too bad and the batteries wouldn’t connect and make it swing.

As I’m writing this, Thursday morning, I’m praying Molly isn’t getting pink eye. She did have blocked tear ducts, but they were almost gone, and now her left eye is kind of goopy. It’s not really red, and she isn’t rubbing it, but my cousin that came to visit us, her son that got sick while here, has pink eye. So I’m just watching for that now. Molly’s getting frustrated with nursing since she can’t breathe out of her nose really well. Oh well, it’s a first for everyone, and all I can do it snuggle her and wait for her to get better. And be patient. Lots of patience.

Now, Sunday night, Molly doesn’t have pink eye, I think she just got some of her cold in her eye. She’s getting better, and sleeping a little better, but I’ll be very happy when this is behind us!

Hope you had a wonderful weekend!

3 responses to “Molly’s First Cold.

  1. Jana H says:

    One word. Nosefrida.

    Get one.

    Sorry Molly is sick. So is Isaac. 😦

    • Megan says:

      It’s in my amazon check out bag now, just waiting for the okay from the hubs to place the (rather large and expensive) order.

      I’m sorry Isaac is sick, it sucks to see your baby sick 😦

  2. […] got your first cold this month, we’re on the tail ends of it. We had some pretty sleepless nights, but you handled it like a […]

Leave a Reply

