My Path In Motherhood

The adventures of a Christian, cloth diapering, cooking enthusiast, breastfeeding, healthy-wannabe, "crunchy" mama and daughter.

One Year Ago.

on September 27, 2012

Positive Pregnancy Test!

One year ago today, I decided that I should take a pregnancy test. After just 2 months of trying, and a week or so of feeling nauseous, I thought it was worth a shot. I was going to wait until the weekend, but I was wayy too excited!

Man, I remember it like it was yesterday. I can’t believe it’s been a whole year since this journey began. I was so incredibly excited that I couldn’t sleep – that’s what I get for taking a pregnancy test at 8:30pm – and I got my laptop out and began writing a letter to my unborn daughter or son, not knowing what was in store for us. I remember the Hubs waking up around midnight or so asking me what the heck I was doing so late and why I was still up. I can still hear him yelling into the bathroom as I was taking the test “It’s negative, right?” Of course we were optimistic, but didn’t want to expect it to happen that quickly.

All those unknowns – what would my baby look like? What would I look like with a hugely pregnant belly? What would our families say? Would the baby be a girl or boy? When would he/she be born? How would he/she be born? So many questions that have been answered in the last year, but there are so many more to come.

I’m just in awe of the miracle that I can hold now, that started as just a dream between two people in love, and is now a tangible, growing, lovable human being that God blessed us with. I can’t imagine what I did with all my time before Molly joined us. I know she’s just (almost) 4 months old, but I honestly can’t remember life without her. It’s like she’s always been a part of us, as corny as that sounds.

I could have never imagined the love I’d feel for her, the sense of pride, and the “mama bear” protection that I have for her. I’m amazed at each new thing she does.

 

I’ll finish up with a paragraph I wrote in the letter I started for Molly that day, a whole year ago.

“I was eating breakfast before going to Hershey Park with your cousins, I’m sure they’ll be your favorite cousins, and I was eating my bread with almond butter, and I felt like throwing up! I thought it was very strange, but I just stuck it in the back of my mind and went on to have a wonderful day riding roller coasters! You must be okay with them, because you didn’t bother me at all that day! I hope it was okay that I took you on the roller coasters, now that I googled it, I’m a little worried…

Well anyways, after feeling sick for 2 days, and not really hungry, which is very unusual for me, your daddy and I talked and decided to take a pregnancy test. Well actually, we were going to wait until Sunday, so that we could do it first thing in the morning, but I was too antsy, I couldn’t wait until Sunday, that’s too many days away! So I went and took it, after shoo-ing your dad out of the bathroom. I waited for the lines to show up, and I gasped when I saw them and put my hand over my mouth! There were two little lines there! Two! That meant that I was pregnant! Because I wasn’t making any noise, your dad thought that it was a negative, he thought I’d come screaming out if it told me that I was pregnant, but I was in shock! So, I wandered out to your daddy and said “Are you ready to be a daddy?” He just stared at me and said “Really?” I said yep, and showed him the two lines. Then he started rambling about saving money and getting bills paid off, that’s your daddy, always wanting to provide the best environment for his family.”

Happy weekend! Any big plans?
4 responses to “One Year Ago.

  1. Jess says:

    wow! you look so skinny in that picture!

    • Megan says:

      Thanks! I want so badly to get back to that weight, but I know it might be unrealistic!

      • Jess says:

        why would it be unrealistic? I can’t think of a better gift to give your daughter than a great, healthy role model for a mom!

      • Megan says:

        I agree with you there! I just think my body has changed since having her – wider hips, thicker thighs, that type of thing. I want to get fit and be a good role model. That’s my main goal!

Leave a Reply

