My Path In Motherhood

The adventures of a Christian, cloth diapering, cooking enthusiast, breastfeeding, healthy-wannabe, "crunchy" mama and daughter.

4 Month Update.

on October 1, 2012

My dearest Molly,

14 Weeks Old.

You’re growing up so fast – almost 4 months old, starting to roll over, you’ve done it a few times, but not consistently yet. While I was cleaning today, I knew you were awake from your nap, but I just let you play and you must have rolled over because I found you on your tummy! On Saturday, Grammy, Aunt Jeannie and I were on the table trying to get you to roll, and you did from your tummy to your back, but I don’t think you really knew what you had done and you haven’t done it since. You’re grabbing toys and bringing them to your mouth. If we wiggle our fingers in front of you, you grab them and try to eat them, too. You learned how to pop your pacifier out of your mouth. I’m still waiting for you to suck your thumb to go to sleep, and hoping that you are a thumb sucker!

You got your first cold this month, we’re on the tail ends of it. We had some pretty sleepless nights, but you handled it like a champ! A few calls to the doctor, but we never had to visit her. I was worried you got pink eye since Colton had it and he was here to visit last weekend, but I guess not. I think it was just the cold that got your eyes all goopy. I’ve been thinking about changing your pediatrician, but don’t really know where to start. I messaged Dr. Lincoln, the doctor who delivered you, I know her husband is a pediatrician and I wonder what he’s like. I asked her for any recommendations she might have for me.

15 Weeks Old.

Sleeping isn’t going so well. I don’t think you’ve slept good all month long. We were doing 8 hour stretches and then you just decided you didn’t like that anymore. It’s a little frustrating, but I know it’ll work itself out. There have been a few nights on the recliner, and while you were sick, Daddy actually slept on the recliner one night so we could sleep in the bed together, which was nice. I hope you get back to your long stretches, I know I was a little spoiled, but I got used to them for sure!

Breastfeeding is still going well! I love that time we have together. I stopped tracking our sessions this month, it was getting me crazy to make sure you were eating long enough and often enough, but I just need to trust you and trust my body. I don’t pump either, haven’t since we were at the beach, and I don’t want to pump at all. I know it will get me nervous to think that however much I pump is an indication of my supply, which I know it isn’t, and I’ll get nervous I’m loosing milk. You’re still content most of the time and don’t get cranky after feedings or anything, so I’m trusting my body and trusting you! I know Daddy wishes he could feed you, but just nursing you myself is way easier, I don’t have to wash any parts or bottles, and it’s always the right temperature. I don’t have to carry anything extra around either.

16 Weeks Old.

We just started cloth diapering this week. It was something I really wanted to do, more so to save money than anything else, but the saving environment is handy, too. We got the cloth diapers at the Bloomsburg Fair. We were going to do a trial to see if we liked them, but the company at the fair seems to be a great company and they were on sale, no shipping, that kind of thing, so we decided to just go for it! So far, I really like them, I ordered some leg warmers for you so we can show off your cute diapers instead of hiding them under pants! I can just picture you as a toddler walking around in a t shirt, cloth diaper and leg warmers! So cute!

Your hair is still red, and you still have all of it! I don’t think your hair is going to fall out. Mine, on the other hand, is coming out in hand fulls! I have to clean the drain at least 2 times during each shower. When I shampoo my hair, it’s at least 4 or 5 times. It’s crazy. I’ve decided I’m going to cut it short again, and I’m pretty excited about it! Back to you though, you only have a bald spot on the back of your head from where you rub it when you move your head. It’s pretty funny and cute.

17 Weeks Old.

We’re working on laughing, too. I got a good video of you laughing, but it’s a rare occurrence. You smile for everyone and anyone who meets you just loves it! You take most naps in your crib during the day, although sometimes I just want to soak it all up and hold you for a nap. I still rock/walk or nurse you to sleep, mostly during the day I’ll put your right arm under my left arm and hum “Amazing Grace,” if you’re tired enough, you’ll be out in less than 5 minutes. I’m usually the only one that can put you to sleep like that. Daddy tries, but it doesn’t work out unless your really tired. At night, I nurse you to sleep. Granted, you’re usually not totally asleep when I put you in the crib, so that’s a good thing. Tummy time is way more enjoyable now than it was a month ago. You don’t fuss much at all when I put you on your belly until you’re tired of it.

You still talk up a storm to everyone, it’s adorable! You were size 1 diapers, and most of your clothes are 3-6 months. I’ve been buying some 6 month stuff so I don’t have to spend a ton of money when you outgrow your 3-6 month clothes.

I love your chubby thighs and dimples on your butt and thighs. So adorable! Every time we undress you for a bath, which Daddy always gives you, I have you stand up on the sink and I just adore those dimples! Daddy thinks I’m a weirdo, but oh well. You’re the apple of our eye, and I can’t imagine life without you baby girl. Can’t wait for your doctors appointment next week to see how much you weigh and how long you are!

Love,

Mommy

Leave a Reply

