My Path In Motherhood

The adventures of a Christian, cloth diapering, cooking enthusiast, breastfeeding, healthy-wannabe, "crunchy" mama and daughter.

La Leche Meeting

on October 18, 2012

Last Tuesday, I went to my first La Leche Meeting. The local chapter meets once a month, and I had been meaning to go, but I totally chickened out each month for one reason or another.

Last month, I turned to their Facebook group for help with Molly’s terrible sleeping situation and I’m happy to say that they were kind, understanding, and helpful in making sure I didn’t loose my mind nor sanity. I felt like after that, I had to go to a meeting. I posted on the group that I was going and wanted to know if anyone was willing to let me follow them since I wasn’t exactly sure where I was going. Another woman responded, one I was actually (Facebook) friends with, I went to high school with her – we were even in Girl Scouts together way back when. She mentioned she didn’t have a car and would like to ride up with me if possible. I was excited that I had a buddy and that I couldn’t chicken out so easily!

I was nervous to go, but knew I needed to keep my promise to Sam, since I was picking her up and taking her. Even though I hadn’t seen her in 6 years, and we weren’t friends in high school, it was an enjoyable ride to the meeting, we talked the whole time about our birth experiences – she had a home birth with nearly no recovery!

We were the first ones at the meeting, but I’m so glad we went. I’m glad I had a buddy to go with and I’m glad I met new moms! There were about 10 moms with babies/toddlers, 3 older leaders, and 1 woman who was pregnant with her first. I felt like I found my people. We talked about nursing, starting solids, birth stories, motherhood and it was just amazing. There was advice, no judgement and just good conversation. And food! They had food! I loved seeing all the kids and babies, ranging from pre-teen down to 6 weeks old. It was great to be able to nurse and not worry about anyone giving you the stink eye. Coincidentally, there were 2 other girls born the same day as Molly! One in the same hospital! So weird! It was nice to talk to the moms and see where they were developmentally in comparison to Molly.

I am so glad I got to go and I am definitely planning on going each month from here on out!

Have you ever been to a La Leche League meeting? What did you think?

One response to “La Leche Meeting

  1. Holly says:

    I went to a LLL meeting once when I was pregnant. I liked it well enough but there were no babies there and only a couple women. The meeting time isn’t super convenient for me.

Leave a Reply

