My Path In Motherhood

The adventures of a Christian, cloth diapering, cooking enthusiast, breastfeeding, healthy-wannabe, "crunchy" mama and daughter.

It’s Official.

on October 25, 2012

We have a new pediatrician! Last Tuesday, I met with a new pediatrician – the husband of the doctor who delivered Molly. I talked about switching pediatricians in this post.

He was exactly what I was looking for in a pediatrician! Now I’m kicking myself for not expanding my search while I was pregnant. Right now, the main things on my mind are starting solids, and possibly extended breastfeeding. He and his wife did baby-led weaning with their son, who is 2 1/2 now, and that’s what I’m really interested in doing with Molly. He also said that his son didn’t really get the hang of solids until he was 13 months old, and was just fine.

I asked about when he’s not there, and he said that there’s always another physician or physician’s assistant on call if he isn’t there. If it’s the middle of the night, there’s an answering service to call, and they’ll either answer whatever question I have, and if they aren’t comfortable with the situation, they’ll call him – he’s always on call. He just seemed really pleasant and nice and said what I wanted to hear – the partnership between patient and doctor is a partnership. No one knows my children better than me, and he knows that. He’s there to give his medical opinion about raising children.

I’m really excited to switch, and the worry that I would have to get Molly’s medical records from her old pediatrician was completely unwarranted, they’re going to call and have them fax the records to the new doctor. Whew! That was my biggest fear I think.

Do you tend to question authority or just take a doctor’s opinion for what it is? 

One response to “It’s Official.

  1. Holly says:

    Glad to hear that you’re much more comfortable with the new ped!

    I tend to talk to E’s doctor about my concerns and then do what feels right, taking their recommendations into consideration.

Leave a Reply

